Last year, the Alliance of Sahel States emerged as a new mutual defence pact in West Africa following political disputes with regional organisation, the Economic Community of West African States.

The alliance comprises of three junta-led nations: Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger who together declared their withdrawal from ECOWAS.

So why have these states decided to leave and what potential ramifications does this new alliance hold for the region?

Image: Image Credit: X @GoitaAssimi

Produced By: Toni Pankaluic

Featured In Story: Dr Muhammad Suleiman – Lecturer in International Relations at Curtin University

First aired on The Wire, Monday 22 April 2024